some part of me is feeling impulsive and is reverting to my quirky design-oriented self as of late. i am seriously contemplating getting copper underlayer highlights for my hair, and plan on getting a consultation for the work tomorrow. maybe something like this:

20160115-hair

my two main concerns are:

  1. whether my regular stylist (back home in NJ) will freak out when he next sees me and finds out that i got the work done.
  2. whether the look will be too unprofessional for my summer associateship.

i am convincing myself that i have compromised on the second issue because the color work on the underlayer should be hidden when i style my hair normally. i remember a classmate from the ‘Tute who had done a complete mohawk prior to graduating because he figured that it was his last chance to do so. part of me must be feeling the same way. my truest self craves freedom of expression.

considering this decision in conjunction with the immediately negative reaction from my older sister makes me think that there are people in this world who will not understand our kind of crazy. i cannot even imagine how she would react if i revealed to her that i have oft thought of getting a tattoo. (i never quite figured out what i wanted on my body permanently, so that project is still floating in the ether of inaction.)